For engineers, by engineers

Markforged at Formnext 2021

Bigger, smarter, hotter – that’s what Markforged engineers say about their FX20. A world fist in 3D printing presented by the American company at the Formnext trade fair in Frankfurt. At Markforged people are passionate about printing; Engineers are convinced that additive manufacturing can revolutionize entire industries and a digital platform that connects 3D printers, software and materials.

Markforged has grown fast since it was founded in 2013 as a dynamic young start-up. Their enthusiasm is fuelled by an unwavering belief in their products and, above all, the benefits they hold for the industry. First and foremost, the new flagship product: The FX20 – the largest, fastest and most intelligent 3D printer that Markforged has produced to date.

Our task and our claim for the Markforged booth at Formnext 2021 is based on this: bigger, smarter, hotter! Take the core of the company and its products, visualize it and let it shine over the trade fair.

From design to reality - satis&fy rounds up multiple departments to achieve greatest impact

Planning for the trade fair stand at Formnext was carried out in the same way as with the Markforged 3D printers: First came the design, then the reality. Since satis&fy could frame the entire process in-house, the first step lay with Creation. Even before the first rendering, considerations about the stand’s placement and the individual circumstances entered the design process:

  • Where is the stand positioned within the exhibition hall?
  • How is the flow of visitors?
  • At what point do potential clients meet Markforged?
  • What colors and designs are the other exhibitors working with and how can Markforged and the FX20 stand out?
  • Are there specific regulations on the exhibition grounds?

 

In addition, we acted with a “international mindset” both in the planning and implementation process. Because at Markforged – as an American client without a branch in Germany – it was important for us to offer not only our logistics, but also our consultancy competence: Which existing exhibition equipment should be shipped from the USA? When is it more sensible and more sustainable to rent equipment locally in Germany? How do we adapt the booth’s design to the introduction of the FX20 to the world and the European market while meeting customer requirements: real interaction and interactivity at the booth, space for meetings, discussions and exchanges, a “stage” for the FX20?

Brand USP as an eye catcher

„Markforged has long had yellow as an accent color in their CI, but rarely used it. It was ideal for the exhibition stand and not only because it emphasizes the brand’s USP!”

 

A highlight of the brand new FX20 is the striking yellow ring made of endless carbon, with which the 3D printer encases the elements to be produced. It quickly became clear to us that this highlight should lead the design. A yellow outline as an eye-catcher around the 220-square meter stand and well thought-out color accents are the striking results of this consideration.

Our Creation team: “Markforged has long had yellow as an accent color, but rarely used it. It was ideal for the exhibition stand and not only because it emphasizes the brand’s USP. The human eye can perceive yellow best, because it lies exactly in the middle wavelength range of the color spectrum. We also found out that only one other exhibitor in the hall works with a yellow shade on their stand. Perfect for drawing attention to Markforged.

After our consultation, the customer changed their mind for a main stand with an extended streamline space inside, open to trade fair visitors on three sides.

“The placement at the trade fair was actually perfect, but with the concept initially envisioned, majority of the visitors would have walked towards a side wall of the stand – not ideal obviously. With the new design, Markforged was able to centrally welcome interested parties and directly interact with them. Exactly as requested,” continues the responsible person from the creation team.

Highlighting the Highlight – from Concept to Finale

The aim was to combine the brand’s USP, customer wishes and trade fair requirements into one design piece. In accordance with the principles of 3D printing and additive manufacturing, layer by layer was carefully laid on top of one another. To achieve this without delay and hurdles, all relevant departments at satis&fy worked hand in hand. Smooth communication was important because there were only 6 weeks from the first customer inquiry to the start of the trade fair. The creation team was in constant contact with project management, production and our experts for scenery, light and audio.

Because of the tight schedule, it was incredibly beneficial to outline the entire process in-house. We see ourselves as a vertical event service provider where all departments work together. Just how well this works was displayed very nicely in this project. Creation’s ideas could be discussed directly with the Secnic and Fabrication team and checked for feasibility. That resulted in fewer coordination rounds and eliminating time loss and therefore less stress for everyone, ” says Julia Böge, project manager of this production.

We see ourselves as a vertical event service provider where all departments work together. “

The final stand has proven that:

  • Bigger, smarter, hotter: the FX20 was appropriately staged on a pedestal. The LED hexagon above the stand reflected the versatility of the brand and product, and reinforced the USP of the 3D printer: endless fiber, reinforcement – here the circle is literally full.
  • The FX20 unveil moment was atmospherically accentuated with moving lights.
  • In addition to the Markforged printer fleet on display, there was plenty of space for conversation and interaction. At the Markforged stand, products should not just be viewed, but, more importantly, experienced. Visitors could take the prints in their hands, let the haptics and optics merge, and interact with the attending engineers from Markforged. The motto “for engineers, by engineers” has come to life here.
  • The details on the stand also told the Brand story: drinks were “printed” on Intellifridges. The displays integrated into the refrigerator doors mimicked the printing process of a 3D print – only that at the end there was a drink.
  • Of course, the classic exhibition elements could not be missing either: From flooring to furniture construction to rigging, effects and lighting as well as sound systems for the stand and video technology for the LED wall and the hexagon; everything provided by a single source for Markforged.
  • That little bit more: Particularly practical for a customer who has no German or European roots: We also took care of the small things, which nevertheless make up a large part of the total scope of work. From printed napkins and barista inquiries for the stand’s bar to restaurant recommendations for the Markforged employees, satis&fy was the one-stop solution.

Your trade fair concept is our incentive

Whether you want a stand that strengthens interaction with your customers through interactive elements and multi-touch solutions, a trade fair appearance that makes your product emotionally tangible with great ease, or one that follows an ecologically and socially sustainable approach:

We design exhibition stands of the highest quality and design. We combine technical know-how with outstanding structural craftsmanship for a coherent and authentic brand experience.

Try us!

Contact: hello@satis-fy.com

What has always driven us? The WOW factor! Because that’s what it’s about, isn’t it?

  • Conceptual development of trade fair appearances
  • Planning, fabrication and construction of high quality stage sets, displays and individual objects
  • Design, planning, prototyping and construction of retail properties
  • Furniture production in series and as individual items
  • 3D visualizations and colored construction plans
  • Advertising technology (LFP, lamination, assembly, etc.)
  • 3D logos and fonts (illuminated / unlit)
  • Graphics editing and creation
  • Stage planning and construction

Copyright Fotos: Anna Imm Photography

For engineers, by engineers

Markforged auf der Formnext 2021

Bigger, smarter, hotter – das sagen die Ingenieure von Markforged über ihren FX20. Die Weltneuheit im 3D-Druck, die das amerikanische Unternehmen auf der Formnext Messe in Frankfurt präsentiert hat. Bei Markforged sind Menschen, die dafür brennen zu drucken; Ingenieure, die überzeugt sind, dass additive Manufaktur ganze Industrien revolutionieren kann und eine digitale Plattform, die 3D-Drucker, Software und Material verbindet.

Erst 2013 gegründet hat Markforged die Dynamik eines jungen Start-Ups, obwohl sie die Kinderschuhe schon lange ausgezogen haben. Der Enthusiasmus wird befeuert von einem unerschütterlichen Glauben an ihre Produkte und vor allem den Nutzen für die Industrie. Allen voran das neue Flaggschiff: Der FX20 – der größte, schnellste und intelligenteste 3D-Drucker, den Markforged bisher hergestellt hat.

Unsere Aufgabe und unser Anspruch für den Markforged-Messestand auf der Formnext 2021 hat sich daran orientiert: bigger, smarter, hotter! Den Kern des Unternehmens und seiner Produkte nehmen, visualisieren und über der Messe erstrahlen lassen.

Vom Design zur Realität – satis&fy arbeitet gewerkeübergreifend für den größten Impact

So, wie es bei den 3D-Druckern von Markforged funktioniert, lief auch die Planung für den Messestand auf der Formnext ab: Erst kam das Design, dann die Realität. Da satis&fy den gesamten Prozess inhouse abbilden durfte, lag das Zepter zunächst bei Creation. Noch vor dem ersten Rendering flossen Überlegungen zur Standplatzierung und den individuellen Gegebenheiten in den Design-Prozess:

  • Wo befindet sich der Stand in der Messehalle?
  • Wie bewegen sich die Besucherströme?
  • An welchem Punkt treffen potenzielle Kunden also auf Markforged?
  • Mit welchen Farben und Designs arbeiten die anderen Aussteller und wie können Markforged und der FX20 herausstechen?
  • Gibt es spezifische Regularien auf dem Messegelände?

Darüber hinaus haben wir bei der Planung und Umsetzung „international“ gedacht. Denn bei Markforged – als amerikanischem Kunden ohne Standort in Deutschland – war es für uns selbstverständlich, nicht nur unsere logistische, sondern auch unsere Beratungs-Kompetenz zu bieten: Welches bestehende Messeequipment soll aus den USA verschifft werden? Wann ist es sinnvoller und auch nachhaltiger, in Deutschland Material anzumieten? Wie passen wir das Design des Standes an die Weltneuheit FX20 und den europäischen Markt an und erfüllen die Kundenwünsche: Echte Interaktion und Interaktivität am Stand, Platz für Meetings, Gespräche und Austausch, eine „Bühne“ für den FX20?

Brand USP als Eyecatcher

„Markforged hatte das Gelb schon lange als Akzentfarbe in ihrer CI, aber kaum damit gearbeitet. Für den Messestand war es ideal!”

 

Ein Highlight des brandneuen FX20 sind die auffallend gelben Spulen aus endless carbon, mit dem der 3D-Drucker die herzustellenden Elemente ummantelt. Für uns war schnell klar, dass dieses Highlight uns den Weg zum Design leuchten soll. Eine gelbe Outline als Eyecatcher rund um den 220 Quadratmeter großen Stand und durchdacht gesetzte Farbakzente sind das aufmerksamkeitserregende Ergebnis dieser Überlegung.

Unser Creation-Team: „Markforged hatte das Gelb schon lange als Akzentfarbe in ihrer CI, aber kaum damit gearbeitet. Für den Messestand war es ideal, weil es nicht nur den USP der Marke betont. Das menschliche Auge kann die Farbe Gelb am besten wahrnehmen, denn es liegt genau im mittleren Wellenlängenbereich des Farbspektrums. Außerdem haben wir herausgefunden, dass in der Halle nur ein weiterer Aussteller mit einem Gelbton am Stand arbeitet. Perfekt, um die Aufmerksamkeit auf Markforged zu lenken.

Nach unserer Beratung hat sich der Kunde für einen Kopfstand mit offenem Streamline-Space im Inneren umentschieden, einen zu drei Seiten für die Messebesucher geöffneten Messestand.

„Die Platzierung auf der Messe war eigentlich perfekt, aber mit dem zunächst angedachten Konzept wäre ein Großteil der Besucher auf eine Seitenwand des Standes zugelaufen – natürlich wenig ideal. Mit dem neuen Design konnte Markforged die Interessenten zentral in Empfang nehmen und sofort mit ihnen interagieren. Genauso, wie es gewünscht wurde“, erzählt die Verantwortliche aus dem Creation-Team weiter.

Highlighting the Highlight – vom Konzept zum Finale

Das Ziel war, USP der Marke, Kundenwünsche und Messeanforderungen zu einer Einheit zu verschmelzen. Ganz nach den Grundsätzen des 3D-Drucks und der additiven Manufaktur wurde hier Schicht für Schicht sorgsam übereinandergelegt. Damit das ohne Verzögerung und Hürden passieren konnte, haben die Gewerke bei satis&fy Hand in Hand gearbeitet. Reibungslose Kommunikation war wichtig, weil von der ersten Kundenanfrage bis zur Messe nur knapp 6 Wochen blieben. Das Creation-Team stand in ständigem Austausch mit der Projektleitung, der Produktion und unseren Experten für Scenic, Licht und Audio.

Vor allem wegen des straffen Zeitplans war es sehr vorteilhaft, den gesamten Prozess inhouse abzubilden. Wir verstehen uns als vertikaler Eventdienstleister, bei dem alle Gewerke übergreifend miteinander arbeiten. Wie gut das funktioniert, hat sich bei diesem Projekt sehr schön gezeigt. Die Ideen von Creation konnten direkt mit dem Team Secnic und  Fabrication besprochen und auf Machbarkeit geprüft werden. Das bedeutet weniger Abstimmungsrunden und Zeitverlust und damit auch weniger Stress für alle“, sagt Julia Böge, Projektleiterin der Produktion.

“Wir verstehen uns als vertikaler Eventdienstleister,
bei dem alle Gewerke übergreifend miteinander arbeiten.”

Der finale Stand hat das bewiesen:

  • Bigger, smarter, hotter: Der FX20 wurde auf einem Podest passend in Szene gesetzt. Das LED-Hexagon über dem Stand spiegelte die Vielseitigkeit von Marke und Produkt wider, und verstärkte den USP des 3D-Druckers: endless fiber, reinforcement – hier hat sich der Kreis im wahrsten Sinne geschlossen.
  • Mit Licht-Chasern wurde der Unveil-Moment des FX20 atmosphärisch untermalt.
  • Neben der ausgestellten Druckerflotte von Markforged blieb reichlich Platz für Gespräche und Interaktion. Am Stand von Markforged sollten Produkte nicht einfach nur angesehen, sondern vor allem erlebt werden. Die Besucher konnten die Drucke in die Hand nehmen, Haptik und Optik verschmelzen lassen, und die eigens angereisten Ingenieure von Markforged mit Fragen löchern. Das Motto „for engineers, by engineers“ ist hier zum Leben erwacht.
  • Auch die Details am Stand haben die Brand-Story erzählt: Auf Intellifridges wurden Drinks „gedruckt“. Die in die Türen der Kühlschränke integrierten Displays imitierten dabei den Druckvorgang eines 3D-Drucks – nur das am Ende ein Getränk stand.
  • Auch die klassischen Messeelemente durften natürlich nicht fehlen: Vom Boden, über Möbelbau bis hin zu Rigging, Effekt- und Standlicht sowie Audiobeschallungssysteme für den Stand und Videotechnik für die LED-Wand und das Hexagon kam für Markforged alles aus einer Hand.
  • Das kleine bisschen mehr: Besonders praktisch für Kunden, die keine deutschen oder europäischen Wurzeln haben: Wir haben uns auch um die Kleinigkeiten gekümmert, die dennoch einen großen Anteil am Gesamtwerk haben. Von bedruckten Servietten über Barista-Anfragen für die Bar am Stand bis hin zu Restaurant-Empfehlungen war satis&fy die One-Stop-Solution.

Ihr Messekonzept ist unser Ansporn

Egal ob Sie einen Stand wünschen, der die Interaktion mit Ihren Kunden durch interaktive Elemente und Multi-Touch-Lösungen perfektioniert, einen Messeauftritt, der Ihr Produkt mit großer Leichtigkeit emotional erlebbar macht oder einen ökologisch und sozial nachhaltigen Ansatz verfolgt:

Wir gestalten Messestände auf höchstem Qualitäts- und Designlevel. Dabei verbinden wir technisches Know-how mit herausragender baulicher Handwerkskunst für ein stimmiges und authentisches Markenerlebnis. ​

Try us!

Kontakt: hello@satis-fy.com

Was uns dabei schon immer antreibt? Das WOW! Denn darum geht es doch, oder?

  • Konzeptionelle Entwicklung von Messeauftritten
  • Planung, Konstruktion und Bau von qualitativ hochwertigen Bühnenbildern, Displays und individuellen Einzelobjekten
  • Design, Planung, Prototyping und Bau von Retailobjekten
  • Möbelproduktion in Serie und als Einzelstücke
  • 3D-Visualisierungen und kolorierte Konstruktionspläne
  • Werbetechnik (LFP, Laminieren, Konfektionieren etc.)
  • 3D-Logos und -Schriften (beleuchtet / unbeleuchtet)
  • Grafikbearbeitung und -erstellung
  • Bühnenplanung und Bühnenbau

Fotos: Anna Imm Photography