2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020730
HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-10

Cinema for the ears \\ Hans Zimmer Live – Europe Tour 2023

From delicate to raucous: Soundtracks on tour

Is it true that soundtracks are created in the studio and only come to life on screen? On the “Hans Zimmer Live – Europe Tour 2023”, the multiple Oscar and Grammy award-winning film composer once again proved that this notion is outdated. Not only outdated, it’s been outdone. Namely, by an impressive show with rock star flair, where powerful, bombastic sounds were followed by tender moments of introspection.

When Hans Zimmer goes on tour, he does not simply repeat what audiences know from the movies, but reaches new heights in celebrated compositions. Accents that have a live effect, that resonate uniquely (if desired), that explore emotions and memories anew. You don’t need a silver screen to bring cinematic images to life in your mind’s eye. Under leadership from Semmel Concerts Entertainment Deutschland and RCI Global as well as girded by top-notch production from satis&fy, the 2023 tournament continued its groundbreaking success from the previous year.

2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020780
HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-11

At 34 sold-out shows in 15 European countries, the audience was whisked away to the fantastic worlds of Dune, Pirates of the Caribbean, Gladiator and many more. An eight-piece dance and vocal ensemble, an orchestra with 300 instruments, 19 band members and Oscar and Grammy award winner Hans Zimmer himself – so much sensation on stage requires enormous experience in live entertainment and logistics. Thus satis&fy, with its lighting and sound production, rigging and stage and backdrop service departments, provided a one-stop solution that is almost unique in the industry to once again realize this exceptional tour. 40 crew members accompanied Hans Zimmer and his musicians across the entire continent.

HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-6

Sonic range, honed to a point

With such a huge ensemble of winds and strings, three drummers, percussionists, guitarists and bassists, it is essential to honor the sound of each performer. At the same time, the interaction between orchestra and band must be heard and experienced as a unified whole.

Hans Zimmer’s sonic range, from intimate tones to bombastic arrangements, was translated into crystal-clear sound, ensuring that quiet moments were not lost in the massive arenas. Sophisticated near-fills ensured congruence between the sound and the artist’s position on stage right up to the front row. Audience and musicians alike were always able to rely on their monitoring to distinguish between subtle strings and booming horns.

From intimate tones to bombastic arrangements, the satis&fy team made sure that the quiet moments were not lost in the huge arena halls.

Long-standing collaboration manifests in superior special constructions

A particular advantage of recurring productions is the fact that what already exists can be improved; and what came before can bring lessons. 2023 marked the second year of the successful collaboration between Semmel Concerts and satis&fy for the “Hans Zimmer Live Tour”. This year we went one better, especially in the area of scenic design.

The moving video screen, which could be flexibly lowered to the front edge of the stage to hide artists behind it until the first drumbeats, created a suspenseful atmosphere. At the customer’s request, the suspension system for the LED wall was slimmed down from 90 to 20 centimeters and made more delicate by means of a sophisticated setup, making it fit seamlessly into the overall stage design. Set-up and dismantling times, which are particularly important in the touring business, were also considerably shortened thanks to the much smaller suspension system.

Ultra-flexible workstations were furthermore used to speed up assembly and dismantling. Here, too, special constructions from satis&fy were a great relief, as the Robe FollowSpot systems require significant control equipment for the operators. A special design allows the workstations to be prepared for use every morning and stowed away ready for transportation every evening in just a few simple steps. This task would otherwise be much more extensive, as the control elements would have to be completely dismantled.

HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-22
2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020928
2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020882

Lighting design and lighting technology go hand in hand

The lighting design from Lightswitch combined with a sophisticated rigging system from CyberHoist, a member of the satis&fy Group, transformed the stage into a glittering masterpiece thanks to accented illumination. Among other things, nine active Robe FollowSpot systems were used, each of which was precisely operated by a dedicated operator behind the stage. John Featherstone, who was responsible for the lighting design with his team from Lightswitch, emphasized the cooperation with satis&fy and praised the “excellent service”.

2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020780

And the Oscar goes to …

Last year, satis&fy was also on site as a service provider for Semmel Concerts on the “Hans Zimmer Live – Europe Tour” when the exceptional composer was honored with his second Academy Award. This year’s tour was also Oscar-worthy, thrilling and enthralling over 300,000 spectators.

Our long-standing cooperation with Semmel Concerts and Video Bär, in conjunction with tight collaboration with partners such as Lightswitch, enable us to provide holistic service at the highest level. That’s why we’re already looking forward to the next live entertainment moments this year with the “Let’s Dance – The Live Tour 2023”.

HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-24

YOUR AUDIENCE IS OUR CHALLENGE!

We supply professional production technology, e.g. lighting and sound technology, video technology, stage animations, rigging, LEDs and stage construction for concerts and tours.

We know how to inspire crowds. Try us!

Contact: Jörn Busch

What we offer:

  • Technical-artistic planning and realization of tours, concerts, festivals, live events
  • State-of-the-art technology
  • Special buildings and constructions
  • Full touring support
  • Seamless supply chains
  • Truck and nightliner logistics
  • Excellent network in Europe and the USA
  • Unique one-stop solution concept
  • Rehearsal rooms (Studio 20/20)
  • Decades of experience in live entertainment

Photos: Anna Imm & Semmel

2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020730
HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-10

Kino für die Ohren \\ Hans Zimmer Live – Europe Tour 2023

Von zart bis zu bombastisch: Filmmusik auf Tour

Filmkompositionen entstehen im Studio und werden erst durch die Leinwand lebendig? Auf der „Hans Zimmer Live – Europe Tour 2023“ hat der mehrfach Oscar- und Grammy-prämierte Filmkomponist erneut bewiesen, dass dieses Bild überholt ist. Überholt wurde. Und zwar von einer beeindruckenden Show mit Rockstar-Flair, in der wuchtig bombastische Sounds abgelöst wurden von zarten Momenten der Innenkehr.

Wenn Hans Zimmer auf Tour geht, wiederholt er nicht einfach, was Zuschauer aus dem Kino kennen, sondern setzt neue Akzente in gefeierten Kompositionen. Akzente, die live wirken, die einzigartig nachhallen (sofern gewünscht), die Emotionen und Erinnerungen neu ergründen. Hier braucht es keine Kinoleinwand, um cineastische Bilder vor dem inneren Auge zum Leben zu erwecken. Unter der Leitung von Semmel Concerts Entertainment Deutschland und RCI Global sowie abgerundet durch erstklassige Technik von satis&fy schrieb die Tournee 2023 ihren bahnbrechenden Erfolg vom letzten Jahr fort.

2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020780
HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-11

Auf 34 ausverkauften Shows in 15 europäischen Ländern wurden die Zuschauer entführt in die fantastischen Welten von Dune, Fluch der Karibik, Gladiator, u. v. m. Ein achtköpfiges Tanz- und Gesangsensemble, ein Orchester mit 300 Instrumenten, 19 Bandmitglieder und der Oscar- und Grammy-Preisträger Hans Zimmer selbst – so viel Sensation auf der Bühne erfordert enorme Erfahrung in Live Entertainment und Logistik. Deswegen lieferte satis&fy mit den Gewerken Licht- und Tontechnik, Rigging sowie Bühnen- und Kulissenbau die in der Branche fast einzigartige One-Stop-Solution, um diese Ausnahme-Tournee ein weiteres Mal zu realisieren. 40 Crewmitglieder begleiteten Hans Zimmer und seine Musiker über den gesamten Kontinent.

HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-6

Klangliche Bandbreite auf den Punkt

Bei einem so gewaltigen Ensemble aus Bläsern und Streichern, drei Schlagzeugern, Perkussionisten, Gitarristen und Bassisten ist es essenziell, die individuellen Klänge der Künstler zu würdigen. Gleichzeitig muss das Zusammenwirken aus Orchester und Band als Gesamtes hör- und erlebbar werden.

Die klangliche Bandbreite Hans Zimmers, von intimen Tönen bis zu bombastischen Arrangements, wurde in glasklaren Sound übersetzt, der vor allem sicherstellte, dass die ruhigen Momente in den riesigen Arenahallen nicht verloren gingen. Ausgeklügelte Nearfills sicherten auch bis in die vorderste Reihe die Kongruenz zwischen Sound und Künstler-Position auf der Bühne. Nicht nur die Zuschauer, auch die Musiker konnten sich zwischen dezenten Streichern und dröhnenden Bläsern immer auf ihr Monitoring verlassen.

Von intimen Tönen bis zu bombastischen Arrangements, das satis&fy Team stellte sicher, dass die ruhigen Momente in den riesigen Arenahallen nicht verloren gingen.

Routinierte Zusammenarbeit verdichtet sich in verbesserten Sonderbauten

Ein besonderer Vorteil von wiederkehrenden Produktionen ist die Tatsache, dass Vorhandenes verbessert und aus Dagewesenem gelernt werden kann. 2023 markierte das zweite Jahr der erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Semmel Concerts und satis&fy für die „Hans Zimmer Live Tournee“ und besonders im Bereich des Scenic Design haben wir in diesem Jahr noch eine Schippe draufgelegt.

Spannungsgeladene Atmosphäre wurde durch die kinetische Videoleinwand erzeugt, die flexibel bis zur Bühnenvorderkante hinabgelassen werden konnte, und die Künstler bis zu den ersten Trommelklängen hinter sich verbarg. Auf Kundenwunsch wurde die Aufhängung der LED-Wand durch einen ausgeklügelten Sonderbau von 90 auf 20 Zentimeter um einiges verschlankt und filigraner gestaltet, sodass sie sich optisch nativ in das Gesamtbühnenbild einfügte. Auch die Auf- und Abbauzeiten, denen insbesondere im Tourneegeschäft eine große Bedeutung zukommt, konnten durch die wesentlich weniger kleinteilige Aufhängung beträchtlich verkürzt werden.

Zügige Auf- und Abbauten wurden ebenfalls durch ultra-flexible Arbeitsplätze forciert. Auch hier sorgten Sonderbauten von satis&fy für signifikante Erleichterung, denn die Robe-Follow-Spot-Systeme gehen mit umfangreichen Steuerelementen für die Operatoren einher. Ein Sonderbau erlaubt es, die Workstations mit nur wenigen Handgriffen jeden Morgen auf ihren Einsatz vorzubereiten bzw. jeden Abend transportfertig zu verstauen. Eine Aufgabe, die andernfalls wesentlich umfangreicher ist, da die Steuerelemente komplett zerlegt werden müssen.

HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-22
2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020928
2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020882

Lichtdesign und -technik strahlen Hand in Hand

Das Lichtdesign von Lightswitch und ein ausgefeiltes Riggingsystem von CyberHoist, einem Mitglied der satis&fy Gruppe, verwandelten die Bühne mit akzentuierter Illumination in ein glänzendes Meisterstück. Dabei wurden unter anderem neun aktive Robe Follow-Spot-Systeme eingesetzt, die jeweils von einem eigenen Operator hinter der Bühne punktgenau bedient wurden. John Featherstone, der sich mit seinem Team von Lightswitch für das Lichtdesign verantwortete, unterstrich die Zusammenarbeit mit satis&fy und lobte den „hervorragenden Service“.

2023_Hans Zimmer Live_L1020780

And the Oscar goes to …

Auch im letzten Jahr war satis&fy bereits als Dienstleister für Semmel Concerts auf der „Hans Zimmer Live – Europe Tour“ vor Ort, als der Ausnahmekomponist mit seinem zweiten Academy Award geehrt wurde. Oscarreif war auch die diesjährige Tournee, die über 300.000 Zuschauer begeistert und mitgerissen hat.

Unsere langjährigen Kooperationen mit Semmel Concerts und Video Bär und die vertrauensvolle Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern wie Lightswitch ermöglichen uns holistischen Service auf höchstem Level. Deswegen freuen wir uns bereits auf die nächsten Live-Entertainment-Momente in diesem Jahr mit der „Let’s Dance – Die Live Tour 2023“.

HZ_23_04_23_Oberhausen_Schow-24

IHR PUBLIKUM IST UNSERE HERAUSFORDERUNG!

Wir liefern professionelle Veranstaltungstechnik, z. B. Licht- und Tontechnik, Videotechnik, Bühnenkinetik, Rigging, LED und Bühnenbau für Konzerte und Tourneen.

Wir wissen, wie man Massen begeistert. Try us!

Kontakt: Jörn Busch

Das bieten wir an:

  • Technisch-künstlerische Planung und Realisierung von Tourneen, Konzerten, Festivals, Live-Events
  • State-of-the-Art-Technik
  • Sonderbauten und -konstruktionen
  • Vollumfänglicher Touring-Support
  • Lückenlose Lieferketten
  • Truck- und Nightliner-Logistik
  • Hervorragende Vernetzung in Europa und den USA
  • Einzigartiges One-Stop-Solution-Konzept
  • Proberäume (Studio 20/20)
  • Jahrzehntelange Erfahrung im Live Entertainment

Fotos: Anna Imm & Semmel