NikeLab Recreation Center

VIRGIL ABLOH AND NIKELAB LAUNCH THE RECREATION CENTER IN CHICAGO

The “Re-Creation Center” was developed for the Nike-Reuse-a-Shoe campaign, which aims to engage young creative athletes through a sponsorship program on the topic of sustainability.

A back-of-house environment turns Nike’s recycling process upside down by enabling people to feel part of Nike’s sustainability solution. Potential visitors have the opportunity to buy Nike products and in return donate used sneakers for recycling. These shoes will be turned into Nike “Grind” and used for basketball courts designed by Virgil Abloh for the 2020 NBA All-Star Weekend in Chicago.

American fashion designer, entrepreneur, artist and DJ Virgil Abloh was Art Director of Louis Vuitton’s men’s collection. He is also Chief Executive Officer of the Milan-based label Off-White. After working for two years in an architecture firm, Abloh shifted his focus to fashion. Nike and Abloh worked together to develop an environment that combines sustainability and interactive experiences, tailor-made for Chicago residents. satis&fy worked closely with his design team for eight months until the store opened. A workshop room is available for young creative professionals to work with mentors from a variety of design fields. Recycled materials and Nike “Grind” were used everywhere, from the terrazzo tiles to the wall coverings throughout the room to the mannequins. The showpiece is a working mechanical conveyor system where the recycled shoes are loaded and moved through the room before falling behind a transparent 2.5 by 3.5 meter LED screen that displays how many shoes have been donated and what percentage of the material has been contributed to the NBA All-Star Court.

satis&fy teamed up with Nike as the scenographer and technical execution contractor. As a cultural center for Chicago’s creative people, the space offers the added value of directly implementable possibilities for individual product manufacturing.

Photos & Video: Jeremy Fenske

YOUR IDEA IS OUR CHALLENGE!

satis&fy creates authentic shops and room concepts that make the identity and image of your brand accessible – visually and emotionally. Concept, form and color become a functional unit. Our experience from hundreds of exciting and successful projects helps us to achieve this.

Every new room, every new store is a new opportunity!

Try us!

contact us:

Michael Kelm

Our services include:

  • Market research
  • Customer briefing / store check
  • Prototype development
  • Interior Design / Shopfitting
  • VR/AR implementation
  • Mood concepts / 3D visualizations
  • Shop-in-shop concepts / pop-up stores
  • Light, sound, video technology
  • Individual Shop Design, Planning and Construction

NikeLab Recreation Center

Virgil Abloh und NikeLab launchen das Re-Creation Center in Chicago

Das „Re-Creation-Center“ wurde für die Nike-Reuse-a-Shoe-Kampagne entwickelt, die junge Kreativsportler durch ein Patenschaftsprogramm zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit ansprechen soll.

Eine Back-of-House-Umgebung stellt den Recyclingprozess von Nike auf den Kopf, indem sie es den Menschen ermöglicht, sich als Teil der Nachhaltigkeitslösung von Nike zu fühlen. Der potenzielle Besucher hat hier die Möglichkeit, Nike-Produkte zu kaufen und im Gegenzug gebrauchte Turnschuhe für das Recycling zu spenden. Diese Schuhe werden in Nike „Grind“ verwandelt und für Basketballplätze verwendet, die von Virgil Abloh für das in Chicago stattfindende NBA All-Star Weekend 2020 entworfen wurden.

Der amerikanische Modedesigner, Unternehmer, Künstler und DJ Virgil Abloh war künstlerischer Leiter der Herrenkollektion von Louis Vuitton. Er ist außerdem Chief Executive Officer des Mailänder Labels Off-White. Nach zwei Jahren Tätigkeit in einem Architekturbüro verlagerte Abloh seinen Fokus auf die Mode. Nike und Abloh arbeiteten gemeinsam an der Entwicklung eines Umfelds, das Nachhaltigkeit und interaktive Erlebnisse kombiniert, maßgeschneidert für die Einwohner von Chicago. satis&fy arbeitete acht Monate lang eng mit seinem Designteam bis zur Ladeneröffnung zusammen. Für junge Kreative steht ein Workshopraum zur Verfügung, in dem mit Mentoren aus einer Vielzahl von gestalterischen Bereichen zusammengearbeitet werden kann. Recycelte Materialien und Nike „Grind“ wurden überall verwendet, angefangen von den Terrazzo-Fliesen über die Wandverkleidung im gesamten Raum bis hin zu den Schaufensterpuppen. Das Vorzeigeobjekt ist ein funktionsfähiges mechanisches Fördersystem: hierauf werden die recycelten Schuhe geladen und durch den Raum bewegt, bevor sie hinter einen transparenten 2,5 mal 3,5 Meter großen LED-Bildschirm fallen, der anzeigt, wie viele Schuhe gespendet und welcher Anteil des Materials für den NBA All-Star Court beigesteuert wurden.

satis&fy tat sich als Szenograf und Beauftragter der technischen Ausführung mit Nike zusammen. Als ein kulturelles Zentrum für die Kreativen von Chicago bietet der Raum den Mehrwert direkt umsetzbarer Möglichkeiten der individuellen Produktfertigung.

\\ Photos & Video: Jeremy Fenske \\

Ihr Store ist unsere Herausforderung!

satis&fy schafft authentische Shops und Raumkonzepte, welche die Identität und das Image ihrer Marke erlebbar machen – optisch und emotional. Um in ihren Kunden etwas auszulösen und sie zum Schauen einzuladen. Konzept, Form und Farbe werden zu einer funktionalen Einheit. Unsere Erfahrung aus hunderten von spannenden und erfolgreichen Projekten hilft uns dabei.

Jeder neue Raum, jeder neue Store ist eine neue Chance!

Try us!

Kontakt:

Michael Kelm

Unsere Leistungen umfassen:
  • Marktrecherche
  • Kundenbriefing / Store-Check
  • Prototypenentwicklung
  • Interior-Design / Shopfitting
  • VR-/AR-Implementierung
  • Mood-Konzepte / 3D-Visualisierungen
  • Shop-in-Shop-Konzepte / Pop-up-Stores
  • Licht, Ton, Videotechnik
  • Individual Shop Design, Planung und Konstruktion